News

Inexpensive catalyst uses light energy to convert ammonia into hydrogen for fuel

Rice University researchers have developed an important light-activated nanomaterial for the hydrogen economy. Using inexpensive raw materials, a team from the Rice Laboratory for Nanophotonics, Syzygy Plasmonics Inc. and Princeton University's Andlinger Center for Energy and the Environment has developed a scalable catalyst that requires only the power of light to convert ammonia into […]

more info

ECJ: Titanium dioxide wrongly classified as carcinogenic

Paint and varnish manufacturers sued the European Court of Justice against the classification of titanium dioxide. The court declared the corresponding regulation of the EU Commission to be void. Titanium dioxide in powder form is wrongly classified as carcinogenic by the EU. The European Court of Justice (ECJ) declared a corresponding regulation of the EU Commission to be void on November 23.11.2022, XNUMX. The EU Commission made an obvious mistake [...]

more info

Sherwin-Williams buys Oskar Nolte and Klumpp Coatings

The Sherwin-Williams Company announced an agreement to acquire Specialized Industrial Coatings Holding (SIC Holding), a joint venture between Peter Möhrle Holding and GP Capital UG, which also owns paint manufacturers Oskar Nolte and Klumpp Coatings. The company's portfolio includes foil coatings as well as radiation-curable and water-based coatings for the panel, furniture and flooring industries. [...]

more info

dr Hönle AG: Initiation of restructuring measures at Raesch Quartz (Germany) GmbH, Ilmenau

The supervisory board of Dr. Hönle AG today approved the Management Board's proposal to initiate restructuring measures at the subsidiary Raesch Quartz (Germany) GmbH, Ilmenau, while safeguarding the rights of the bodies responsible for operational co-determination. In order to implement this decision, the production and administration of Raesch Quartz (Germany) GmbH in Ilmenau are to be shut down. As part of these measures, […]

more info

Röhm and OQ Chemicals lay the foundation for a new plant

With the groundbreaking, Röhm and OQ Chemicals have officially started building a new large-scale methyl methacrylate (MMA) plant. The new plant will be built by Röhm at the OQ Chemicals production site in Bay City, Texas, USA. OQ Chemicals will supply the new facility with raw materials and provide infrastructure and site services. To this end, OQ Chemicals […]

more info

Robust UV-curable polyurethane acrylate coating

In a new study, a UV-curable, self-healing, transparent polyurethane-acrylate coating based on disulfide bonds was developed and cured by modified nano-silica. UV curable coatings are widely used because of their environmental friendliness and low volatile organic compound (VOC) emission. However, the fast curing speed of UV curable coatings often leads to internal structural defects, which severely limits their application and development. […]

more info

Sherwin-Williams acquires Italian wood coatings company

The Sherwin-Williams Company has announced an agreement to acquire Industria Chimica Adriatica (ICA). ICA is an Italian developer, manufacturer and distributor of industrial wood coatings for kitchen cabinets, furniture and decoration, building products, flooring and other special applications. According to the company, the acquired company has annual sales of more than EUR 150 million and operates worldwide, including […]

more info

Redesigned homepage

On August 05.08.2022th, XNUMX we gave our homepage a new look. As part of this redesign, we will be adding interesting news from the various areas of UV technology at this point in the future. We have already posted the first new news and some examples from the "News" of the past years. We hope you enjoy reading the new […]

more info

Toyo Ink plans to double production capacity for laminating adhesives in Asia

By strengthening its global supply chain, Toyo Ink Group aims to expand sales of highly functional and environmentally friendly solutions such as solvent-free adhesives, for which demand is expected to increase worldwide. The expansion work at the Malaysian site is already underway and full operation is scheduled to start in the third quarter of 2023. After commissioning, Toyochem Specialty Chemical will […]

more info

IGM Resins acquires Litian

With a history of over 45 years and 23 years of experience in the energy curing market, Litian is currently the second largest Chinese manufacturer of UV acrylates with a high market share and good reputation in Asia. Litian employs 185 people, all of whom work at the Rudong (Jiangsu, China) site. Litian offers a complete portfolio of (customizable) monomers and […]

more info

News

Preiswerter Katalysator nutzt Lichtenergie zur Umwandlung von Ammoniak in Wasserstoff als Kraftstoff

Forscher der Rice University haben ein wichtiges lichtaktiviertes Nanomaterial für die Wasserstoffwirtschaft entwickelt. Ein Team des Rice Laboratory for Nanophotonics, der Syzygy Plasmonics Inc. und des Andlinger Center for Energy and the Environment der Princeton University hat unter Verwendung kostengünstiger Rohstoffe einen skalierbaren Katalysator entwickelt, der nur die Kraft des Lichts benötigt, um Ammoniak in […]

mehr Infos

EuGH: Titandioxid zu Unrecht als krebserregend eingestuft

Farben- und Lackhersteller klagen erfolgreich vorm Europäischen Gerichtshof gegen die Einstufung von Titandioxid. Das Gericht erklärte die entsprechende Verordnung der EU-Kommission für nichtig. Titandioxid in Pulverform ist durch die EU zu Unrecht als krebserregend eingestuft. Eine entsprechende Verordnung der EU-Kommission erklärte der Europäische Gerichtshof (EuGH) am 23.11.2022 für nichtig. Die EU-Kommission habe einen offensichtlichen Fehler […]

mehr Infos

Sherwin-Williams kauft Oskar Nolte und Klumpp Coatings

The Sherwin-Williams Company gab eine Vereinbarung zur Übernahme der Specialized Industrial Coatings Holding (SIC Holding) bekannt, einem Joint Venture der Peter Möhrle Holding und GP Capital UG, zu dem auch die Lackhersteller Oskar Nolte und Klumpp Coatings gehören. Das Portfolio des Unternehmens umfasst Folienbeschichtungen sowie strahlenhärtende und wasserbasierte Beschichtungen für die Platten-, Möbel- und Bodenbelagsindustrie. […]

mehr Infos

Dr. Hönle AG: Einleitung von Restrukturierungsmaßnahmen bei der Raesch Quarz (Germany) GmbH, Ilmenau

Der Aufsichtsrat der Dr. Hönle AG hat heute dem Vorschlag des Vorstands zugestimmt, bei der Tochtergesellschaft Raesch Quarz (Germany) GmbH, Ilmenau, Restrukturierungsmaßnahmen unter Wahrung der Rechte der Gremien der betrieblichen Mitbestimmung einzuleiten. In Umsetzung dieses Beschlusses sollen die Produktion und Verwaltung der Raesch Quarz (Germany) GmbH in Ilmenau stillgelegt werden. Im Zuge dieser Maßnahmen werden […]

mehr Infos

Röhm und OQ Chemicals legen Grundstein für neue Anlage

Mit dem ersten Spatenstich haben Röhm und OQ Chemicals offiziell mit dem Bau einer neuen Methylmethacrylat (MMA)-Großanlage begonnen. Die neue Anlage wird von Röhm am Produktionsstandort von OQ Chemicals in Bay City, Texas, USA, errichtet. OQ Chemicals wird die neue Anlage mit Rohstoffen beliefern und Infrastruktur- und Standortdienstleistungen bereitstellen. Zu diesem Zweck hat OQ Chemicals […]

mehr Infos

Robuste UV-härtbare Polyurethan-Acrylat-Beschichtung

In einer neuen Studie wurde eine UV-härtbare, selbstheilende, transparente Polyurethan-Acrylat-Beschichtung auf der Grundlage von Disulfidbindungen entwickeltund durch modifiziertes Nano-Siliziumdioxid gehärtet. UV-härtbare Beschichtungen sind wegen ihrer Umweltfreundlichkeit und der geringen Emission flüchtiger organischer Verbindungen (VOC) weit verbreitet.Die schnelle Aushärtungsgeschwindigkeit von UV-härtbaren Beschichtungen führt jedoch häufig zu internen strukturellen Defekten, was ihre Anwendung und Entwicklung stark einschränkt. […]

mehr Infos

Sherwin-Williams übernimmt italienisches Unternehmen für Holzbeschichtungen

Die Sherwin-Williams Company hat eine Vereinbarung zur Übernahme von Industria Chimica Adriatica (ICA) bekannt gegeben. ICA ist ein italienischer Entwickler, Hersteller und Vertreiber von industriellen Holzbeschichtungen für Küchenschränke, Möbel und Dekoration, Bauprodukte, Bodenbeläge und andere Spezialanwendungen. Nach Unternehmensangaben erzielt das übernommene Unternehmen einen Jahresumsatz von mehr als 150 Mio. EUR und ist weltweit tätig, einschließlich […]

mehr Infos

Neu gestaltete Homepage

Zum 05.08.2022 haben wir unserer Homepage ein neues Gesicht gegeben. Im Rahmen dieser Neugestaltung werden wir künftig an dieser Stelle interessante Neuigkeiten aus den verschiedenen Bereichen der UV-Technologie einfügen. Erste neue News und einige Beispiele aus den „News“ der vergangenen Jahre haben wir bereits jetzt eingestellt. Wir wünschen Ihnen viel Spass beim Lesen der neuen […]

mehr Infos

Toyo Ink will Produktionskapazität für Laminierklebstoffe in Asien verdoppeln

Durch die Stärkung ihrer globalen Lieferkette will die Toyo Ink Gruppe den Absatz von hochfunktionalen und umweltfreundlichen Lösungen wie lösungsmittelfreien Klebstoffen ausbauen, für die weltweit eine steigende Nachfrage erwartet wird. Die Erweiterungsarbeiten am malaysischen Standort sind bereits im Gange, der Vollbetrieb soll im dritten Quartal 2023 aufgenommen werden. Nach der Inbetriebnahme soll Toyochem Specialty Chemical […]

mehr Infos

IGM Resins übernimmt Litian

Mit einer über 45-jährigen Firmengeschichte und 23 Jahren Erfahrung auf dem Markt der Energiehärtung ist Litian derzeit der zweitgrößte chinesische Hersteller von UV-Acrylaten mit einem hohen Marktanteil und einem guten Ruf in Asien. Litian beschäftigt 185 Mitarbeiter, die alle am Standort in Rudong (Jiangsu, China) arbeiten. Litian bietet ein komplettes Portfolio an (anpassbaren) Monomeren und […]

mehr Infos